St. Andrew’s History
A few Irish immigrant families settled this area in the 1840s and gradually others, including some Scottish families, joined them there. One of those early settlers was Thomas Baldwin after whom Baldwin’s Road is named. In 1846 the people built their first church on the Baldwin’s Road which they dedicated to St. Cuthbert, one of the most venerated English saints who lived in the seventh century. In 1875 the parishioners pulled down their church and built a new one. Four years later this church blew down during a violent winter storm and was quickly replaced by a small temporary chapel.
A beautiful and large church was opened in 1886 and solemnly dedicated by Archbishop Lynch of Toronto. Due to premature deterioration, this one was dismantled and replaced in 1912 by a magnificent church designed by architect William Harris. Unfortunately this architectural gem and rural landmark was totally destroyed by fire in 1993. Two years later the present church opened for worship. The first parish rectory was constructed in the 1860s, destroyed by fire in 1936 and replaced the same year by the present one. Since 1878 the pastors have resided there.
In 1949 the Sisters of Saint Martha arrived in the parish, moving into a new convent by the church. They remained in the community until 1999, giving a half century of kindly service for the well being of the school children and of the whole parish. The parishioners here have had their set backs from the ongoing building of new structures, but they remain today a strong faith community of 140 families situated in a beautiful rural setting.